Officially J&K, Ladakh are two UTs from today

October 31, 2019 2:26 am3 commentsViews: 58

From today, October 31, Jammu and Kashmir ceases to be a state in India. After the strip of Article 370 on August 5 from the country’s constitution it was split into two union territories and president rule was imposed. Officially, Ladakh and the rest of J&K are now UTs.

Officially J&K, Ladakh are two UTs from today

Official notification from the desk of President Ram Nath Kovind read, “In exercise of the powers conferred by clause (2) of article 365 of the Constitution, I, Ram Nath Kovind, President of India, hereby revoke the proclamation issued by me under the said article on the 19th December, 2018 in relation to the State of Jammu and Kashmir.”

Since June 2017 the Valley was under central rule following resignation of the then Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti due to withdrawal of support by Bharatiya Janata Party to the PDP led government.

The first six months after dissolvent of Mehbooba Mufti government was Governor’s rule and thereafter President’s rule was imposed under Article 356 of the Indian Constitution for another six months though it was subsequently extended with Parliament approval.

The Article 356 is not applicable in Union Territories and this is the reason president’s rule ceases to be imposed.

G.C. Murmu will be sworn as the first Lt. Governor of J&K union territory while for Ladakh R.K. Mathur will take the office.


Leave a Reply

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons