South African Development Community Members To Get Visa On Arrival In Zimbabwe

April 19, 2023 9:07 pm22 commentsViews: 255

Zimbabwe has eased visa policies for the South African Development Community (SADC) members announcing to offer visa on arrival. Reviewing the visa requirements the country has elevated 29 countries from Category C to Category B level and the international countries included are Mexico, Romania, Ethiopia and Armenia apart from SADC countries.

The latest move of Zimbabwe is focused on improving the travel sector and unlocking tourism potential in the country. It was announced during the National Tourism Strategy workshop by Immigration principal director, Clement Masango.

Prior to this, the African Union (AU) launched Single African Air Transport Market (SAATM) with the aim to implement continent-wide visa free regimes that includes issuance of visas at ports of entry for all the Africans. It has called for the abolishment of visa requirements for everyone in the continent by 2018.

Zimbabwe’s Vice President, Rtd. Gen. Constantino Chiwenga, said very recently, “Zimbabwe should take advantage of the international community’s confidence in the new administration to market the country as a preferred destination for tourists and investors.”

Meanwhile, the Tourism Industry minister Prisca Mupfumira said the country will continue to assess Zimbabwe’s accessibility in comparison with other destinations.


Leave a Reply

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons